On this page
Gallows Hill DLTC: renew your driver's licence card (2026)
Last checked: 29 October 2026 (SAST). Lines marked ⚠️ are undated or not confirmed on an official page. Check those with the City before you go.
New to renewing? Read the national guide first: How to renew your driver's licence at a South African licensing centre. It covers the documents, the eye test, temporary licences, NaTIS booking, card collection and common errors. This page covers only what's specific to Gallows Hill DLTC in Green Point: address, hours, Cape Town fees, the walk-in queue, admin marks, and which office to use for a vehicle disc.
1. Who this is for
- You live or work in Green Point, Sea Point, Mouille Point, De Waterkant, the V&A Waterfront, the City Bowl, or the Cape Town CBD.
- You want to renew your driver's licence card at Gallows Hill, or decide whether another City centre is a better bet.
- You were told you have an admin mark and the City's fine page sent you here to clear it (see §4).
- Learner's tests, driving tests and vehicle licence discs use different rules. Test booking waits are in §7 so you don't mix them up with the renewal queue.
Card renewals and vehicle discs are different offices.
- Gallows Hills Driving Licence Testing Centre, corner of Ebenezer and Somerset roads, Green Point: licence card renewals, tests, PrDPs, fine payments. The City's own page title spells it Gallows Hills. The same page, and the City's fine page, also say Gallows Hill. It is one centre. (City DLTC page)
- Vehicle registration and licence discs are not on that service list. The City's motor-vehicle registration directory (the page says 21 facilities) has no Gallows Hill office. For a disc in town, use Civic Centre Vehicle Registration Centre, Hertzog Boulevard, Cape Town: Mon–Fri 08:00–15:30, Sat 08:00–11:30 (earlier than the DLTC). (MVR directory, Civic Centre page)
2. Disclaimer
General information from public sources, checked 29 October 2026. Not legal advice. Not an official City of Cape Town, Western Cape Government or RTMC page. Check the official links below or call the City before you go.
3. Quick facts
| Centre | Gallows Hills Driving Licence Testing Centre (City of Cape Town). Also written Gallows Hill. |
| Address | Cnr Ebenezer and Somerset roads, Green Point. The fine page shortens this to Somerset Road, Green Point. No street number or postal code on the City page. |
| Phone | 0860 103 089 (City traffic enquiries line, not a direct line to the centre) |
| [email protected] | |
| Hours | Mon–Fri 08:00–15:30 · Sat 08:00–12:30 (SAST) |
| Sunday / late nights | None published. Closed Sundays. |
| Public holidays | Not stated on the City page ⚠️. Assume closed. |
| Card renewals? | Yes. "Licence renewals" is a listed service. |
| Booking or walk-in? | Walk-in. NaTIS eQueue doesn't cover the Western Cape (why). The City's online bookings are for municipal accounts and vehicle discs, not licence cards. |
| Fee (City of Cape Town) | R140 if your licence is still valid; R185 if it has already expired. Temporary licence R45. ⚠️ Undated. See §4. |
| Plan for | The City says 2–3 hours for a licence application or renewal. Public reviews from Nov 2025 and Mar 2026 describe anything from about an hour to a long queue outside (unverified). |
Sources: City – Gallows Hills DLTC, City – Learners and drivers licences, City – renewal fees.
Getting there: search "Gallows Hill Traffic Department" or "Ebenezer and Somerset, Green Point" in a map app. The City does not publish parking, a bus stop, or a postal code ⚠️. One public review dated 6 Mar 2026 says there was no parking at the department and they parked at least 500 m away. That is one person's report, not a City rule.
Hours caveat: use the City's 08:00–15:30 and Saturday 12:30. A map listing checked the same day shows those hours and Sunday closed (aggregated listing). A different directory says weekdays open at 07:30, Saturday closes at 12:00, and gives the phone number 021 406 8742 (InfoGov). Another lists 021 400 6234 and [email protected] (K53 South Africa). None of those numbers, the 07:30 opening, or that email are on the City page. Ignore them unless the City publishes them.
There is no official queue cut-off. Doors at 15:30 do not mean a renewal started at 15:20 will be taken. Arrive early. ⚠️
Load-shedding: the City's DLTC index says some centres are affected and to check the facility's zone first. That index does not name a zone for Gallows Hill. ⚠️ (City DLTC index)
4. What's different in Cape Town, and at this centre
The full national document list is on the hub page. City of Cape Town specifics, from the renewal page as read on 29 Oct 2026:
- Photos: the City asks for 1 recent ID photo if your licence is still valid, and 2 if it has expired. Western Cape Government asks for 2, plus an extra 2 if you need a temporary licence because the card has expired. Take 4 identical photos so either rule is covered.
- Proof of address: bring it. The City links a Verification Documents Guideline (the file on that page is dated 01/09/2020). WCG says the proof must be under 3 months old and in the applicant's name.
- Form DL1 is linked on the City renewal page. Bring a pen. WCG says that for a new licence application. A Gallows Hill review on 10 Feb 2026 says the counter had none. ⚠️
- Eye test and fingerprints are done at the DLTC. The City pages we checked do not list a separate eye-test fee. Whether a private optometrist's report is accepted in the Western Cape is unclear ⚠️ (see hub §7). Bring your glasses.
- Payment method for the card fee is not stated on the renewal page. The City's fine page says traffic centres take cash, debit or credit card, and postal orders for fines. That is not written as the rule for the licence-card cashier. ⚠️
Fees at City of Cape Town centres (pages read 29 Oct 2026)
| Item | Amount | Source | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card issue (renewing before expiry) | R140 | City renewal page; WCG price box | Medium. Both pages still show R140. Neither dates the tariff ⚠️ |
| Renewal after expiry | R185 | City renewal page | Medium-low. One figure, not broken down. WCG does not publish R185; it says ask the centre ⚠️ |
| Temporary driving licence | R45 | City renewal page; WCG | Medium. Undated on the page ⚠️ |
| Replacement of a lost or stolen card | R185, plus two ID photos | City renewal page, "Replace a lost or stolen driver's licence card" | Medium. This is not the ordinary renewal fee ⚠️ |
One public review (29 Dec 2025) says they paid "R95" and left with a temporary licence. R95 is not on the City or WCG pages we checked. Budget the published fees, not that review.
This building is not a renewals-only queue
The City lists these services at Gallows Hill, as well as licence renewals: driving licence tests for all codes, professional licence tests, PrDP applications, licence replacements, fine payments, disabled-disc applications, driving-instructor applications, AARTO infringement payments, cellphone-impoundment payments, and tow-away and vehicle-impoundment payments. People paying fines are in the same centre.
Two jobs the City specifically points at this centre:
- Admin marks. The City says an admin mark (from a warrant of arrest for not appearing in court) blocks renewal of a driving licence, a car licence, vehicle registration, or a PrDP. To clear it in person: pay the fine and remove the mark at Gallows Hills DLTC. Phone 0860 103 089 option 4, or 021 444 3311, or email [email protected]. (City – Pay your traffic fine) ⚠️ That page does not say how long clearing a mark takes, or whether you can renew the card the same day.
- Parking tickets (pink slips). The City says a pink slip can only be paid once it is captured, about 6–8 weeks after issue, or you can take it to Gallow's Hill Traffic Department to be captured and paid the same visit. Same page, same spelling variant.
5. How a visit to Gallows Hill goes
For the national step-by-step, see the hub. The City does not publish the order of windows at Gallows Hill, so this is the documented process plus what recent public reviews describe. Reviews are unverified.
- Go before the card expires if you can. The City publishes R140 before expiry and R185 after. A temporary licence is a separate line at R45. The City does not say whether the R185 already includes that R45 (see §4).
- Do not book a "licence renewal" on the City's appointment site and expect to skip the queue. The 16 Jan 2026 City release is about account payments and vehicle licence discs at customer offices (bookings.capetown.gov.za). A public review dated 18 Feb 2026 says an online appointment to renew a card at Gallows Hill counted for nothing on the day. Treat the card renewal as walk-in.
- Arrive before 08:00 on a weekday, or early Saturday (the published Saturday close is 12:30). The City says to set aside 2–3 hours. A review of a Monday visit around 12:30 on 24 Nov 2025 describes form, eye test and payment done in about an hour. A review on 6 Mar 2026 describes about 90 minutes outside before getting in. Both can be true on different days.
- Take the documents in §4, your current card, and a pen.
- Eye test, photo and fingerprints, then pay. Keep the receipt. If the card is already expired, ask for the temporary driving licence at the same time. The City says a temporary licence is valid for six months or until the new card is issued.
- Leave. The card is printed nationally and comes back to this centre. You cannot collect a Gallows Hill application at Milnerton or the Civic Centre.
Collection: come back to Gallows Hill with your ID once the card is ready. Check first by SMS or on NaTIS (hub §8). The City destroys cards not collected within 120 days.
Saturday: the City page publishes Saturday hours and does not say that renewals stop on Saturday. InfoGov claims Saturdays are renewals, collections and payments only, with no driving or learner's tests. That limit is not on the City page. ⚠️ If you are here for a test, phone 0860 103 089 before you rely on a Saturday slot.
6. If something goes wrong at Gallows Hill
General errors (NaTIS "province not added", eNaTIS outages, card delays) are on the hub. Local escalation:
- Centre supervisor or manager on the spot. The City says complaints "may be lodged with the management of each DLTC" (City).
- City Traffic Services: 0860 103 089 / [email protected]. Have your receipt number, date and time ready.
- Admin mark specifically: 0860 103 089 option 4 / 021 444 3311 / [email protected] (fine page).
- Western Cape Government driving licence helpdesk: 021 483 0520 / 6401 / 2469 / 2080 / 2078 (WCG).
No Gallows Hill-specific outage notice was found for late October 2026. The countrywide eNaTIS outage on 6 Oct 2026 would have stopped card renewals here along with every other centre.
The older Western Cape Government facility page for this centre returned 404 on 29 Oct 2026, so it is not linked below. Use the City page.
Never pay "runners" or anyone outside the official cashier.
7. Is Gallows Hill the right centre? Nearby alternatives
You can renew a card at any City of Cape Town DLTC (City release, 8 Feb 2025), but you collect where you applied. Gallows Hill is the City's Green Point centre. These other centres also list licence renewals, with the same published hours (Mon–Fri 08:00–15:30, Sat 08:00–12:30), confirmed on their City pages on 29 Oct 2026:
| Centre | Address | Guide | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Milnerton DLTC | William Penn Drive, Milnerton | Renewal guide | City |
| Parow DLTC | Cnr Jan Smuts Street and Beacon Road, Parow Valley | Coming | City |
| Goodwood DLTC | Cnr Frans Conradie and Hugo streets, Goodwood | Coming | City |
| Bellrail DLTC | Bellrail Road, Bellville | Coming | City |
All Western Cape centres: /licensing/western-cape/.
About the City's "waiting times" table: those weekly figures are for learner's and driving test bookings, not card renewals. As at 26 October 2026, Gallows Hill showed 28 days for a learner's test, 7 days for a light-vehicle test, 1 day for a heavy-vehicle test and 3 days for a motorcycle test (City waiting times). Useful if you are booking a test. They say nothing about the renewal queue on the day you walk in.
8. Sources (last checked 29 Oct 2026, SAST)
Official:
- City of Cape Town, Gallows Hills DLTC (address, hours, services, phone): https://www.capetown.gov.za/family-and-home/see-all-city-facilities/our-service-facilities/drivers-licence-testing-centres/gallows-hills-driving-licence-testing-centre/
- City of Cape Town, DLTC index (18 centres; load-shedding note; Gallows Hill address): https://www.capetown.gov.za/Family%20and%20home/see-all-city-facilities/our-service-facilities/Drivers%20licence%20testing%20centres
- City of Cape Town, renewal (documents, R140 / R185 / R45, DL1, 120-day note on that page): https://www.capetown.gov.za/city-connect/apply/licences-and-permits/driving-and-vehicles/apply-for-a-new-or-replacement-drivers-licence/
- City of Cape Town, Learners and drivers licences (2–3 hours, 120-day destruction, complaints): https://www.capetown.gov.za/work-and-business/transport-and-vehicles/vehicles-and-driving/learner-and-drivers-licenses/
- City of Cape Town, Waiting times (as at 26 Oct 2026): https://www.capetown.gov.za/family-and-home/transport-and-vehicles/vehicles-and-driving/waiting-times-for-drivers-licence-tests/
- City of Cape Town, Pay your traffic fine (admin marks at Gallows Hills; pink slips; in-person payment methods for fines): https://www.capetown.gov.za/City-Connect/Pay/Driving-and-vehicles/Fines/Pay-your-traffic-fine
- City of Cape Town, motor vehicle registration centres (Gallows Hill absent; Civic Centre listed): https://www.capetown.gov.za/Explore%20and%20enjoy/See-all-City-facilities/Our-service-facilities/Motor%20vehicle%20registration%20centres
- City of Cape Town, Civic Centre Vehicle Registration Centre (Hertzog Boulevard; Sat until 11:30): https://www.capetown.gov.za/family-and-home/see-all-city-facilities/our-service-facilities/motor-vehicle-registration-centres/civic-centre-vehicle-registration-centre/
- City of Cape Town, "DLTCs drive to ease the wait" (8 Feb 2025; renewals at any City DLTC): https://www.capetown.gov.za/media-and-news/dltcs-drive-to-ease-the-wait/
- City of Cape Town, "Pay online, make an appointment" (16 Jan 2026; bookings are for accounts and vehicle discs): https://www.capetown.gov.za/media-and-news/pay-online-make-an-appointment-avoid-queues/
- City online bookings: https://bookings.capetown.gov.za/
- Western Cape Government, Driving licence (R140 card issue, R45 temporary, photos, helpdesk): https://www.westerncape.gov.za/mobility/service/driving-licence
- City pages for Milnerton, Parow, Goodwood and Bellrail DLTCs (links in §7)
Media / secondary (reported, not official):
- Aggregated public listing and reviews of Gallows Hill Traffic Department (hours match the City; reviews dated Nov 2025–Mar 2026; 1,238 reviews and a 3.7 rating on that page): https://exa.ai/library/place/wp474zdrkp9
- InfoGov directory (07:30 opening, 021 406 8742, Saturday-services claim; conflicts with the City page): https://infogov.co.za/locations/gallows-hill-driving-licence-testing-centre-dltc/
- K53 South Africa (021 400 6234 and [email protected]; not on the City page): https://k-53.co.za/test-centres/gallows-hill-dltc
The Western Cape Government facility URL https://d7.westerncape.gov.za/facility/gallows-hill-driving-licence-testing-centre returned 404 on 29 Oct 2026. It is omitted as a source.
National sources (eQueue, RTMC, gov.za, card printing) are on the hub page.